#followthis (no Twitter)

I got an email from my friend yesterday that I didn’t get the chance to look at until just now. Dashira and I met in college, I don’t even remember know how to tell you the truth. One thing I do remember is facebooking each other while she did a semester abroad in London and being a little jealous that she was out there experiencing all this cool stuff while I was in Philly with the crackheads. As a new-age digital journalist with much gusto and a lot of drive and ambition, Dashi was working for a very well-known major cable network when she decided to abandon the security of it all to achieve her dream. Panamanian by descent, she has always had an interest in the cross-section of Latino and African culture, and how the results of that combination shape global attitudes and perspectives.

Visit this website http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1310754884/negro-a-diaspora-docu-series-by-dash to learn about her journey and what she hopes to accomplish.

I don’t know about y’all, but I find it amazing and inspiring when people are able to take a leap of faith and step out onto a shaky ledge to do something that means something to them. When I graduated from college, I was so worried about having steady employment to use the degree I had just paid all that damn money for that I ended up taking the first job that showed an interest in me (it was also the only company I had interviewed with). Now that I have been here 3 years and have about 20 more gray hairs than when I first started, my patience is wearing thin and my spirit feels stifled. I come to work every day anticipating when I can get right back in my car and go home, and while I know that is the case for a lot of people, I don’t think I should accept it as definitive in my life.

Because I have major responsibilities, one of them being a son, I have allowed myself to get comfortable in a place where I should never have been, and now find myself struggling to crawl back out of the sink hole I’m currently wading in. The quicksand is slow-moving, which is a plus, but I still need to get the hell out of it before it sucks me all the way in! I have great abilities, am an independent, hardworking self-starter, and am always willing to learn. Every job I’ve ever interviewed for, I got the position and I think there’s something to be said for that.

Allowing yourself to settle for less than what you’re worth is something a lot of people struggle with, whether it’s with employment, education or our favorite RELATIONSHIPS. For whatever reason, we do ourselves the injustice of holding back when we should really be pushing forward as much as is humanly possible. Another of my friends, Jazzmynn moved to a new state and started her own clothing line, although she has a full-time job and is in the process of trying to buy a home. These phenomenal Venuses are making strides to leave their impact on the world..

This post is a reminder to myself to follow whatever it is that is leading me to a new and improved life direction.

Leave a Reply

